Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks

Written in

by

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/daily-prompt-public/

Are you comfortable in front of people, or does the idea of public speaking make you want to hide in the bathroom? Why?

I’ve always been shy. My outlet has been writing, it was a great way to avoid having to deal with my feelings or even conversations in a public way. Ever since I could remember, I’ve always written letters, notes, emails and in general avoided direct talk unless it’s someone I have a really good, established relationship with.

Public speaking is scary but it really does depend on the instance. Going to an open Mic Night and reading my poems is a more fear inspiring experience than speaking up about an injustice in public. When sharing a part of myself that I feel is fairly well hidden or even intimate, it becomes a very scary, soul numbing adventure and sometimes I have to get off the ride (as I have for the past few years by not reciting any of my writing in public)

I have a hard time even admitting that I’m a writer to strangers. I always fear them asking me to recite something from memory or dread the conversation where some random person gives you advice on what you should write even though they know little to nothing about you but that’s an entirely different topic.

Blogging has helped me hide, I won’t deny that but let me say that usually my socks are white, not black so I resemble that remark.

8 responses to “Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks”

  1. […] Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks (angirach.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Hitting the Switch | Cheri Speak Avatar

    […] Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Lux […]

  3. Daily Prompt; Naked With Black Socks | terry1954 Avatar

    […] Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks (angirach.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Am I really comfortable in front of people? | Rob's Surf Report Avatar
  5. Black Socks Down | Edward Hotspur Avatar

    […] Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Lux […]

  6. Daily Prompt – Naked with Black Socks | Joe's Musings Avatar

    […] Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Lux […]

  7. Daily Prompt; Fearful Symmetry | terry1954 Avatar

    […] Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks (angirach.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment

Explore my side projects and work using this link

Upsidedown is a WordPress theme design that brings blog posts rising above inverted header and footer components.